Setting to “Friends” Instead of to “Public” Disables Sharing Your Posts, Even for Friends



Dear friends, I don’t know if this is still true or not, because I have not tried it recently. However, in late 2018, I temporarily changed my timeline privacy settings from “Public” to “Friends”. I also changed friend requests to just “Friends of Friends”.

However, from that day forward, a few of my friends began reporting to me that they were unable to share my work from my timeline, because they couldn’t see a “Share” button or link on my timeline, even though I did see it on my end.

Well, eight days later, after a small degree of frustration, and with the help of a few of my friends, I finally figured out what was going on. As it turns out, it seems that if you set your timeline privacy settings to “Friends” instead of to “Public”, one of the negative side effects of doing that is that it ALSO prevents your friends from sharing your posts. The “Share” button/link simply disappears for them.

I was totally unaware of this fact up until that point. Thank God I was able to figure it out! As I said, this occurred towards the end of 2018, so I don’t know if it still holds true or not, and I am not about to find out. I just felt that I should warn everyone, just in case it is still the case.

About Bill Kochman

Bill Kochman is a Christian writer, poet, graphic artist, online evangelist and founder and webmaster of the Bill's Bible Basics website and blog. His interests include tropical fish, Macintosh computers, web design, writing poetry and God's natural creation.
This entry was posted in BBB and Facebook Ads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply